Child Sexual Abuse and Clergy Abuse in Alaska
The state of Alaska has had to deal with its share of child sexual abuse cases just like any other state in the union. The Last Frontier state has laws in place when it comes to sexual abuse but when you consider that not many of these cases are reported at all, you may understand how many people get away with this kind of behavior. When it comes to a person in authority like a teacher or tutor, people don’t generally associate them with sexually abusing children. When a child faces teacher sexual abuse, the consequences are dire. While the child suffers much due to the very deed, there is an added amount of emotional turmoil that comes from the fact that the person who abused happens to be someone they looked up to and respected like a teacher, tutor, and/or mentor.
Child Sexual Abuse Cases in Alaska
Due to the large amount of embarrassment and fear that children face in a situation wherein a teacher becomes a molester, not many teacher sexual abuse cases see the light of day. In a case registered in 2009 in Anchorage, Alaska, Birchwood Christian school teacher and basketball coach, Jenson Eugene Seifert was charged with 14 counts of child sexual abuse of a 14 year old student. Seifert happened to be a mentor to the child owing to which the child, all of 14 years, did not say anything to his parents about the abuse that he was being subjected to. Seifert also happened to be a friend to both the child as well as the parent which further complicated matters. The point in question during the investigation Seifert obnoxiously stated that it wasn’t abuse, he was just curious. Thankfully in this situation the mother of the child was alert enough to notice a withdrawal in her child’s behavior and called the authorities & lawyers.
Alaska Sexual Abuse and Clergy Abuse Statute of Limitations
In Alaska, there is no statute of limitations for suits based on serious sexual offenses. Sexual abuse and clergy abuse are serious offenses and the legislature made sure that people would have the time to pursue their claims For lesser offenses, the statute is 3 years.
Serious sexual offenses are actions for felony sexual abuse of a minor, felony sexual assault, or unlawful exploitation of a minor.
Lesser offenses are suits based on misdemeanor sexual abuse of a minor, misdemeanor assault, incest, and felony indecent exposure. These get a 3 year statute of limitations.
Alaska has delayed tolling for minors and that translates to 18 years old plus two additional years. This means that actions for misdemeanor abuse of a minor that accrue when the person entitled to bring such action is majority which is eighteen
There is a three year extension for the ”should have discovered” rule. This means that there is a three year statute of limitations for actions based upon misdemeanor sexual abuse of a minor from after “the plaintiff discovered or through reasonable diligence should have discovered that the act caused the injury or condition.”
A Sexual Abuse Attorney In Your Corner
If you or someone you know has been a victim of teacher sexual abuse or coach sex abuse, the first thing to do is approach a teacher abuse lawyer or a coach sexual abuse lawyer. Rather than calling anybody or responding to the first ad you see, it is highly recommended that you speak to sexual abuse victim advocate Samuel Rogatinsky. Samuel Rogatinsky will listen to your circumstances and he will respect your privacy.
If someone you know has been a victim of sexual abuse, contact our law firm at (954) 995.3805 or send an email to sexual abuse lawyer Samuel Rogatinsky at firstname.lastname@example.org