Hawaii Sexual Abuse and Clergy Abuse Statute of Limitations
Hawaii does not have a very liberal statute of limitations for victims of sexual abuse. Basically, if you were sexually abused as a minor, the statute is tolled until you reach age of majority which is 18 years old plus an additional 2 years. The general statute of limitations for personal injury actions is 2 years with no tolling for any reason.
The god news for victims in Hawaii is that the state does recognize the discovery rule so the statute of limitations begins to run when the victim knows or should have known that their injury and the abuse was causally related.
If you were sexually abused by a priest, rabbi, coach, psychologist or any other person who sexually abused you, please don’t feel ashamed. We want to help you.
Contact me, sexual abuse lawyer Samuel Rogatinsky at (954) 995-3805 or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org